Built in the 13th century by Enguerrand III and transformed into a seigneurial palace in the 14th century by Enguerrand VII, the Château de Coucy was considered to be one of the biggest fortresses in the Medieval West. Later a royal residence, it was dismantled in the 17th century during the Fronde wars and then turned into a stone quarry. Viollet-le-Duc undertook its restoration in the 19th century. In 1917, German forces destroyed its five huge towers.
The impressive ruins still standing today are an opportunity to step back through time and history. Using their powers of observation and imagination, students will be able to get a complete picture of this fabulous castle.